Geraint Thomas, of Team Sky. Photograph: denismenchov08 on Flickr
Geraint Thomas, of Team Sky. Photograph: denismenchov08 on Flickr

The top five cycling teams in the world will compete in this year’s Tour of Britain.

Quick-Step Floors; Team Sky; BMC Racing; Movistar Team and Orica Scott have confirmed that they will be at the start line, in Edinburgh, on September 3.

Although finalised line-ups will be confirmed later this month, world time trial champion Tony Martin and Alexander Kristoff, winner of the European Championship Road Race, are due to compete.

British sprinter Mark Cavendish and Tour de France stage winner Geraint Thomas have both indicated they want to ride in the eight-stage race.

A Great Britain national team will also compete.

“The combination of teams from all three levels of the sport, plus the presence of a Great Britain national team and the continuation of six-man teams will continue to make for open and aggressive racing,” said Mick Bennett, the tour’s race director.

Teams: An Post Chain Reaction (Ireland); Bardiani CSF (Italy); BIKE Channel Canyon (Great Britain); BMC Racing Team (USA); Cannondale Drapac Pro Cycling (USA); CCC Sprandi Polkowice (Poland); Cylance Pro Cycling (USA); Great Britain national team (Great Britain); JLT Condor (Great Britain); Lotto Soudal (Belgium); Madison Genesis (Great Britain); Movistar Team (Spain); ONE Pro Cycling (Great Britain); Orica Scott (Australia); Quick-Step Floors (Belgium); Team Dimension Data (South Africa); Team Katusha Alpecin (Germany); Team Lotto NL – Jumbo (Netherlands); Team Sky (Great Britain); Wanty Groupe Gobert (Belgium).