The Mayor of Bingham is the latest of a string of councillors to resign from the town's council.

Mr Alan Harvey had been on Bingham Town Council for seven years.

He is the fourth independent councillor to resign in the space of two months, following his former deputy, Mrs Tracey Kerry, planning committee chairman Mr Kevin Hayes-Heath and councillor Mrs Elizabeth Hutchison.

A by-election to fill three of the vacancies, two for Bingham West ward and one for Bingham East ward, will be held on November 16.

Another by-election to fill Mr Harvey's vacancy could be held if at least ten electors in Bingham request it.